/Biomedical Engineering

Capes Evaluation 6 Visit the site

Learn More

The Biomedical Engineering department, established in 1971, is the oldest graduation course in BE in Brazil. It offers programs in the master and doctorate levels to students coming from the exact and health sciences domains. Touching on a wide range of areas, this program offers world class training with an aim to producing individuals that are capable of developing activities in different sectors, such as in the academy, in research, industries, service, and hospitals. They can also work in related areas, such as in sports, signals processing, scientific instrumentation, computing, systems projects and maintenance, and complex instrumentation.

 

Thanks to the use of methods of the exact, medical and biological sciences explored through interdisciplinary and multi-professional lenses, the Biomedical Engineering department contributes to the development of various areas and sectors, including the scientific, the economic, the industrial, and the social.

 

The department’s research lines concentrate in the following areas: Signals Processing and Medical Imagery; Movement Analysis and the Physiology of the Exercise; Pulmonary Engineering; Health Systems Engineering; Biomedical Instrumentation, Ultrasound in Medicine.

  • Coordinator: Renan Moritz
  • Vice Coordinator: Antonio Maurício Ferreira Miranda de Sá

Graduation Faculty

Name Curriculum
Alexandre Visintainer Pino
pino@peb.ufrj.br
Lattes
Alysson Roncally Silva Carvalho
roncally.carvalho@peb.ufrj.br
Lattes
Antonio Giannella Neto
agn@peb.ufrj.br
Lattes
Antonio Mauricio Ferreira Leite Miranda de Sá
amflms@peb.ufrj.br
Lattes
Carlos Julio Tierra Criollo
carjulio@ufrj.br
Lattes
Diogo Antonio Tschoeke
diogoat@peb.ufrj.br
Lattes
Frederico Caetano Jandre de Assis Tavares
jandre@peb.ufrj.br
Lattes
João Carlos Machado
jcm@peb.ufrj.br
Lattes
Jurandir Nadal
jn@peb.ufrj.br
Lattes
Lilian Fernandes de Oliveira
liliam@peb.ufrj.br
Lattes
Luciano Luporini Menegaldo
lmeneg@peb.ufrj.br
Lattes
Marcio Nogueira de Souza
souza@peb.ufrj.br
Lattes
Marco Antonio von Kruger
mavk@peb.ufrj.br
Lattes
Maurício Cagy
mcagy@peb.ufrj.br
Lattes
Renan Moritz Varnier Rodrigues de Almeida
renan@peb.ufrj.br
Lattes
Roberto Macoto Ichinose
macoto@peb.ufrj.br
Lattes
Rosimary Terezinha de Almeida
rosal@ufrj.br
Lattes
Wagner Coelho de Albuquerque Pereira
wagner@peb.ufrj.br
Lattes

Invited Professors

Name Curriculum
Flavio Fonseca Nobre
flavio@peb.ufrj.br
Lattes
Avaliação CAPES6 Learn More

429 master’s dissertations and 101 doctoral theses were defended until 2014.

Vist the site

* Todos os campos são obrigatórios / * All fields are mandatory

DDD + 00000000
Centro de Tecnologia Bloco H - Sala 327
Cidade Universitária
Rio de Janeiro - RJ - Brasil

Telefone: + 55 (21) 3938-8629, 3938-8630 ou 3938-8631
Fax: Fax: (21) 3938-8591
Email: secretaria@peb.ufrj.br
Website: http://www.peb.ufrj.br