/Ocean Engineering

Capes Evaluation 4 Visit the site

Learn More

Since its creation in 1967, the Ocean Engineering department is known nationally and internationally for its training and research in ocean engineering. It offers master’s and doctorate degrees and also disciplines in the undergraduate Department of Naval Engineering of the Polytechnic School of the Federal University of Rio de Janeiro.

 

The Laboratory of Submarine Technology and the Laboratory of Oceanic Technology (LabOceano) are in the forefront in their respective areas. In particular, LabOceano conducts realistic simulations of the ocean environment, such as waves and currents and their impact on floating structures.

 

The department has a strong interaction with industries and companies, having brought notable technological breakthroughs in the field of offshore oil exploration and production. It is widely recognized for its contributions in projects on coastal areas and in the naval sector.

 

The research lines concentrate in the following areas: Naval Engineering and Coastal and Oceanographic Engineering.
 

  • Coordinator: Antonio Carlos Fernandes
  • Vice Coordinator: Jean David Job Emmanuel Marie Caprace

Graduation Faculty

Name Curriculum
Afonso de Moraes Paiva
mpaiva@peno.coppe.ufrj.br
Lattes
Antonio Carlos Fernandes
acfernandes@alternex.com.br
Lattes
Bianca de Carvalho Pinheiro
bianca@lts.coppe.ufrj.br
Lattes
Carlos Antonio Levi da Conceição
levi@peno.coppe.ufrj.br
Lattes
Claudio Alexis Rodriguez Castillo
claudiorc@peno.coppe.ufrj.br
Lattes
Claudio Freitas Neves
neves@peno.coppe.ufrj.br
Lattes
Floriano Carlos Martins Pires Junior
floriano@peno.coppe.ufrj.br
Lattes
Ilson Paranhos Pasqualino
ilson@lts.coppe.ufrj.br
Lattes
Jean David Job Emmanuel Marie Caprace
jdcaprace@oceanica.ufrj.br
Lattes
Juan Bautista Villa Wanderley
juanw@peno.coppe.ufrj.br
Lattes
Julio Cesar Ramalho Cyrino
julio@peno.coppe.ufrj.br
Lattes
Luiz Gallisa Guimarães
lula@if.ufrj.br
Lattes
Marcelo de Almeida Santos Neves
masn@peno.coppe.ufrj.br
Lattes
Marcelo Igor Lourenço de Souza
migor@lts.coppe.ufrj.br
Lattes
Marcos Nicolas Gallo
marcosgallo@peno.coppe.ufrj.br
Lattes
Maria Aparecida Cavalcanti Netto
aparecida@peno.coppe.ufrj.br
Lattes
Murilo Augusto Vaz
murilo@peno.coppe.ufrj.br
Lattes
Nelson Violante de Carvalho
n_violante@oceanica.ufrj.br
Lattes
Paulo Cesar Colonna Rosman
pccrosman@ufrj.br
Lattes
Paulo de Tarso Themistocles Esperança
ptarso@peno.coppe.ufrj.br
Lattes
Raad Yahya Qassim
qassim@peno.coppe.ufrj.br
Lattes
Segen Farid Estefen
segen@lts.coppe.ufrj.br
Lattes
Susana Beatriz Vinzon
susana@peno.coppe.ufrj.br
Lattes
Theodoro Antoun Netto
tanetto@lts.coppe.ufrj.br
Lattes

Affiliated Professors

Name Curriculum
Luiz Antonio Vaz Pinto
vaz@oceanica.ufrj.br
Lattes

Invited Professors

Name Curriculum
Carlos Eduardo Parente Ribeiro
parente@peno.coppe.ufrj.br
Lattes
Carlos Rodrigues Pereira Belchior
belchior@peno.coppe.ufrj.br
Lattes
Claudio Luiz Barauna Vieira
barauna@peno.coppe.ufrj.br
Lattes
Geraldo Wilson Junior
gwj@peno.coppe.ufrj.br
Lattes
Sergio Hamilton Sphaier
sphaier@coppe.ufrj.br
Lattes

Visiting Professors

Name Curriculum
Paulo Cesar da Camara Monteiro Junior
Lattes
Avaliação CAPES4 Learn More

636 master’s dissertations and 129 doctoral theses were defended until 2014.

Vist the site

* Todos os campos são obrigatórios / * All fields are mandatory

DDD + 00000000
Centro de Tecnologia Bloco C - Sala 203
Cidade Universitária
Rio de Janeiro - RJ - Brasil

Telefone: +55 (21) 3938-8730
Fax: (21) 3938-8731
Email: secexpeno@coppe.ufrj.br
Website: http://www.oceanica.ufrj.br/