/Systems Engineering and Computer Science

Capes Evaluation 7 Visit the site

Learn More

The department, established in 1970, is among the best in the country, having kept the highest grade at the official evaluation by Capes. Trained students are quickly absorbed by the market, in one of the most dynamic fields in today’s science and technology.

 

The Systems Engineering and Computer Science postgraduate programs includes interdisciplinary activities in High Performance Computing and Telecommunications. In the latter field, it includes activities with Coppe’s Electric and Industrial engineering programs; the courses offered combine the learning of the technology with the preparation for the business world, a feature that is essential for a successful career in the telecommunications domain. The program’s structure actively follows the trends in research carried out both nationally and internationally, and contributes to the advancement of cutting edge topics.

 

The department’s research lines concentrate in the following areas: Algorithms and Combinatorics; Computer Architecture and Operating Systems; Databases; Computer Graphics; Software Engineering; Artificial Intelligence; Social Aspects of Computing; Optimization; Computer Networks.

 

  • Coordinator: Guilherme Horta Travassos
  • Vice Coordinator: Geraldo Zimbrão da Silva

Graduation Faculty

Name Curriculum
Abilio Pereira de Lucena Filho
abiliolucena@cos.ufrj.br
Lattes
Alexandre de Assis Bento Lima
assis@cos.ufrj.br
Lattes
Ana Regina Cavalcanti da Rocha
darocha@cos.ufrj.br
Lattes
Carlos Eduardo Pedreira
pedreira@pesquisador.cnpq.br
Lattes
Celina Miraglia Herrera de Figueiredo
celina@cos.ufrj.br
Lattes
Cláudia Maria Lima Werner
werner@cos.ufrj.br
Lattes
Claudio Esperança
esperanc@cos.ufrj.br
Lattes
Cláudio Luis Amorim
amorim@cos.ufrj.br
Lattes
Daniel Ratton Figueiredo
daniel@cos.ufrj.br
Lattes
Edmundo A. de Souza e Silva
edmundo@land.ufrj.br
Lattes
Fabio Happ Botler
fabio.botler@gmail.com
Lattes
Flavia Coimbra Delicato
fdelicato@gmail.com
Lattes
Franklin de Lima Marquezino
franklin@cos.ufrj.br
Lattes
Geraldo Bonorino Xexéo
xexeo@cos.ufrj.br
Lattes
Geraldo Zimbrão da Silva
zimbrao@cos.ufrj.br
Lattes
Gerson Zaverucha
gerson@cos.ufrj.br
Lattes
Guilherme Horta Travassos
ght@cos.ufrj.br
Lattes
Henrique Luiz Cukierman
hcukier@cos.ufrj.br
Lattes
Jano Moreira de Souza
jano@cos.ufrj.br
Lattes
José Ferreira de Rezende
rezende@gta.ufrj.br
Lattes
Laura Silvia Bahiense da Silva Leite
laura@cos.ufrj.br
Lattes
Luigi Gelabert Simonetti
Lattes
Luis Felipe Magalhães de Moraes
moraes@cos.ufrj.br
Lattes
Marcia Helena C. Fampa
fampa@cos.ufrj.br
Lattes
Márcia Rosana Cerioli
cerioli@cos.ufrj.br
Lattes
Mario Roberto Folhadela Benevides
mario@cos.ufrj.br
Lattes
Marta Lima de Queirós Mattoso
marta@cos.ufrj.br
Lattes
Paulo de Figueiredo Pires
Lattes
Priscila Machado Vieira Lima
priscilamlv@gmail.com
Lattes
Ricardo Cordeiro de Farias
rfarias@ufrj.br
Lattes
Ricardo Guerra Marroquim
marroquim@cos.ufrj.br
Lattes
Rosa Maria Meri Leão
rosa@cos.ufrj.br
Lattes
Rubem Pinto Mondaini
mondaini@cos.ufrj.br
Lattes
Sulamita Klein
sula@cos.ufrj.br
Lattes
Toacy Cavalcante de Oliveira
toacy@cos.ufrj.br
Lattes
Valmir Carneiro Barbosa
valmir@cos.ufrj.br
Lattes

Emeritus Professors

Name Curriculum
Jayme Luiz Szwarcfiter
jayme@cos.ufrj.br
Lattes
Nelson Maculan Filho
maculan@cos.ufrj.br
Lattes

Invited Professors

Name Curriculum
Adilson Elias Xavier
adilson@cos.ufrj.br
Lattes
Felipe Maia Galvão França
felipe@cos.ufrj.br
Lattes
Paulo Augusto Veloso
veloso@cos.ufrj.br
Lattes
Paulo Roberto Oliveira
poliveir@cos.ufrj.br
Lattes
Susana Scheimberg de Makler
susana@cos.ufrj.br
Lattes
Avaliação CAPES7 Learn More

1,376 master’s dissertations and 480 doctoral theses were defended until 2014.

 

Vist the site

* Todos os campos são obrigatórios / * All fields are mandatory

DDD + 00000000
Centro de Tecnologia Bloco H - Sala 319
Cidade Universitária
Rio de Janeiro - RJ - Brasil

Telefone: +55 (21) 3938-8672
Fax: (21) 3938-8676
Email: secexpesc@coppe.ufrj.br
Website: http://www.cos.ufrj.br